Ship

This ship is sinking,
rolling over,
bubbling beneath
the washing-machine waves,
sucking the last breath
from my lips
like a siren
luring me to the depths of death.

I am here,
screaming into the hollow wind,
because this

ship

is

sinking,

and I’m on it
with no lifeboat to save me.

The water floods my mouth,
brine pouring into my lungs
like soot clogging chimneys,
and I claw,
swim,
struggle,
but the lead water
clings like sucker fish
to walls of a tank
that drowns them anyway,

and this

ship
is
sinking,

taking me with it.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

