Walls and Breaking

My heart
builds walls
without limits
or borders
because all I am is
barriers on top of barriers.

I am a fortress,
barred and towering
over mountains dwarfed
by my impossibility.

I want to let you in,
but can’t you see
the walls are ice-thin
and ready to crack
with a breath?

I look strong
and formidable,
safety among fear,
but I am so ready to break,
to cascade in tumbling waves
of letting go.

But if you touch me,
I’ll fracture
and bury you
in all the longing
trapped within
these vacant walls.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

